History of the name Castlefield
The original “Castlefield” home was built in 1852. In 1856 Pioneer and Philanthropist John Matthew Smith an early settler in the Moorabbin district was a significant contributor to the Castlefield Estate. Smith purchased 38 acres of land located on the corner of Hampton St and Bluff Rd which included the Castlefield residence. Improvements were made to the house and more property was purchased in 1887. Overall Smith owned 231 acres from Hampton St to Bluff Rd and his family was almost self-sufficient with cows, pigs and fowls. There was a veggie garden, fruit trees and fernery, not to mention a small zoo with monkeys and exotic birds.
The original Castlefield estate has since been divided; nonetheless many of the streets in the area still bear the names of original towns and battlefields associated with WW1. For example, “Imbros Street was named after the Aegean Sea Island where Australian soldiers were based before being sent to Gallipoli in WW1. Continuing with the military theme, several nearby streets are also named after WW1 battlefields. In fact the estate around the reserve was developed by the “War Service Homes Commission” in 1924 to house ex-servicemen. Many of these homes still remain.” source: bayside.vic.gov.au/Castlefield walk. Castlefield Community Centre along with the Castlefield Reserve situated on Ludstone St was named after the former Castlefield Estate.
The original home is now part of Haileybury College and from South Road we have the ability to see the picturesque Castlefield residence which is located within the College grounds.
Opening of Castlefield as Haileybury College, 1932.
Source: Graham J Whitehead, City of Kingston, Kingston Historical Website, John Matthew Smith: Pioneer and Philanthropist